As an automotive marketer, driving phone leads is only half the battle. Your ROI also depends on your sales agents’ ability to answer those calls and convert them to revenue. Do you know how many of the phone leads you drive are going unanswered? And do you know how much revenue those unanswered calls are costing you? The answer may surprise you.
The automotive industry will spend over $17 billion on digital advertising in 2022 - 1
The automotive industry will spend over $19 billion on digital advertising in 2023 - 1
The average cost for an automotive lead is $250 - 2
68% of consumers prefer to communicate with businesses via phone more than any other channel - 3
44% of consumers call because they need more information to make a purchase - 3
30% of consumers call because they’re most comfortable completing high-stakes purchases over the phone - 3
74% of consumers have hung up after being placed on hold - 3
75% of consumers hang up after hearing a message about long wait times - 3
Nearly ⅓ of Callers Will Hang Up Within 5 Minutes of Being Placed on Hold - 3
84% of marketers say phone calls have higher conversion rates with larger order value (AOV) compared to other forms of engagement - 5
Callers convert 30% faster than web leads - 5
Caller retention rate is 28% higher than web lead retention rate - 5
41% of organizations report having increased phone conversion rates by 25% or more in the past 12 months - 5
40% average automotive sales call opportunity rate across all channels - 4
34% average automotive sales call conversion rate across channels - 4
The automotive industry has a 23% average unanswered call rate - 4
The automotive industry has a 2% average voice mail rate - 4
The Revenue Cost of Unanswered Calls
Example: Automotive Dealer Customer
Average profit per vehicle sold: $2,337
Average 23% unanswered call rate: 276,000
@34% opportunity conversion rate: 93,840
@2% hot lead rate: 1,876
1,876 x $2,337 = $4,400,000/month unrealized profits - 4
The Marketing Cost of Unanswered Calls
Average Google Ads CPC: $2.46
Monthly PPC call volume: 840,000
Average 23% unanswered call rate: 193,000
@33% sales opportunity rate: 21,667
@34% sales opportunity conversion rate: 3,756
21,667 x $2.46 = $53,300/month wasted marketing spend - 4
The Tire Chain Knew These Metrics About Its Performance
But Invoca Revealed the Cost of Its Missed Calls
The Tire Chain Used Invoca to Reduce Missed Calls, Driving These Results